Latest post Wed, Mar 23 2011 7:41 PM by DLpres. 4 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (5 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Thu, Sep 30 2010 4:03 PM

• paranerd
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Wed, Sep 8 2010
    • Posts 4
    • Points 50

Sad [:(] MC5 - Exporting AAF with multiple frame rates kills audio handles

Hey all!  I did a search of the forum and I'm surprised to not find a thread on this issue.  I'm mainly a dialogue editor with Pro Tools, so I apologize for any MC5 ignorance I have.

If you work with multiple frame rates in MC5, let's say 29.97DF and 23.98, and export an AAF session with a 29.97DF frame rate, all the 23.98 footage will be rendered with Motion Effect.  This essentially kills all the handles on the audio clips and renders all Avid volume changes into the rendered audio when I open the AAF in Pro Tools.  The work around we developed was exporting two AAFs: one in 29.97DF and another in 23.98.  I would then open and combine both AAFs in a single session and discard all the "motion effected" clips.  For a 46 minute show, there would be a discrepancy of 4 frames by the end and I would simply realign everything manually.

However, I've come to another problem that I can't readily fix with the 2 AAFs workaround.  In the timeline, there is footage shot on Red and on "VariCam" (this is what my video editor called it, I don't know what it is), both at 23.98.  The Red footage doesn't get "motion effected," but the "VariCam" footage does in the same 23.98 AAF.  I don't understand how to easily fix this problem as I can't export an 23.98 AAF without "motion effecting" the "VariCam" footage.

I know Avid has known about his bug for a while and I'm surprised it hasn't been dealt with it yet.  The dual AAF workaround wasn't ideal, but at least I could get handles and work done.  In this case, I would have no handles on all "VariCam" footage which isn't something I want to work with.

Thanks!

• Mon, Oct 4 2010 1:52 PM In reply to

• paranerd
    • Not Ranked