Latest post Thu, Sep 30 2010 4:41 PM by M-Edit. 10 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (11 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Tue, Aug 10 2010 8:55 AM

• ripple
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Tue, Aug 10 2010
    • Posts 35
    • Points 550

Hello and a newbie question

Hello Everyone!

I'm relatively new to ds (2 weeks in my new job and some experience about 5 years ago!), but not new to Avid (15 years on Media Composer).

Firstly, may I apologise in advance for any dumb questions I'm probably going to ask!

At the moment, I've been thrown in at the deep end and am starting editing on jobs straigt away. In an ideal world I would have liked to have started gently with some tutorials, and read through the manual but no such luck.

So, at the moment I am wondering...what is the equivalent of such and such from MC! The first is the extend tool...is their an equivalent in ds?

And the other is...on MC I can trim the in and outpoint of a clip by dragging around the clip from R-L, and then drag the rollers so I'm changing my in and out point at the same time. (does that make sense?). I've tried going into trim mode in ds and it's dog slow sometimes, taking ages to update.

Oh yes, and finally...can I have digital scrub in trim mode? You know, so you can hear each frame as you're trimming. I'm finding it difficult to trim audio without this.

I'll leave it there for now and I apologise if there are a lot of similar posts from MC people migrating to ds.

Bye for now

Ripple

• Tue, Aug 10 2010 12:03 PM In reply to

• Tommyp
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Wed, Jan 25 2006
    • Ann Arbor, MI
    • Posts 74
    • Points 915
    • Moderator: Avid DS

Re: Hello and a newbie question

Hello Ripple,

Welcome back to DS! There are no dumb questions.