Latest post Mon, Nov 3 2008 4:24 PM by BLKDOG. 5 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Sun, Nov 2 2008 4:53 PM

P2 footage looks muddy...but not in FCP

The saga has been continuing for me.  I've been editing on AVID for 12 years now, and don't WANT to use FCP.  But I must say, Color is just a fantastic program...enough to make me really think about this...

BUT HERE'S MY REAL QUESTION:

Why when I bring my P2 footage into MC 3.0 (OSX 10.5.5) does it look muddy (blacks seem washy, like the setup is too high)?  When I import into FCP, it's nice and contrasty.  Am I just missing something?

Filed under: , ,
  • Sun, Nov 2 2008 6:25 PM In reply to

Re: P2 footage looks muddy...but not in FCP

A few months ago, I found that imported P2 footage into FCP had resulted in clips with the wrong gamma. It may have been that the project setup had been wrong, but then it probably was by default. When I imported the same footage in Avid, everything was just right.

So  your footage may look nice and contrasty in FCP, but at the same time it may in fact very well be mistreated by the import, and needing repair in color correction. If you like having your footage gamma altered, that's up to you. I prefer a straight unchanged import, and will adjust contrast in CC.

Media Composer Symphony | PT Ultimate | Win10 HPZ | OSX MBP | ISIS5000 [view my complete system specs]
  • Sun, Nov 2 2008 8:57 PM In reply to

• BLKDOG
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Lansing, MI
    • Posts 17,739
    • Points 227,800
    • Avid Employee
      Moderator: MCA Mac
      Moderator: MCA PC

Also, assuming your P2 is HD footage, you should probably be importing your P2 footage in 601 and not RGB. 

Project Manager, Avid Professional Services - Americas [view my complete system specs]

In agreement, Unity. In Disagreement, Discussion. In all things, Charity.

• Sun, Nov 2 2008 10:33 PM In reply to

• janusz
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Paris