Latest post Wed, Jan 5 2022 5:55 PM by Pat Horridge. 2 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (3 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Jan 5 2022 3:18 PM

Media Offline AAF

Good day all,

I've been using Avid for about 10 years now, and I am just needing to us AAF for the first time. 

I'm looking to send the sequence to another editor (AAF at their request), I export the sequence as an AAF and consolidate all the video and audio to the same folder as the AAF file and send that along. It goes into the Avid easily enough, the sequence and layers are all laid out on the TL as they should be, but everything is offline despite consolidating everything to the same folder. 

Do I need to send all the media long too?

Thanks in advance

Filed under: ,
  • Wed, Jan 5 2022 4:40 PM In reply to

Re: Media Offline AAF

Hi.

Your friend´s video suite does not see your consolidated media. Try to move this folder to Avid media files and name as 1,2 " or 3 any number. If this does not work try to embedded file.

cj

AVID MEDIA COMPOSER 5.5.3. PC. WINDOWS 7, SP1. 64BIT OPERATING SYSTEM. QUICK TIME VERSION 7.6.9. [view my complete system specs]

Christian Jhonson

Avid Ambassador                                 

christianjhonsoon@hotmail.com

• Wed, Jan 5 2022 5:55 PM In reply to

Re: Media Offline AAF

As CJ says an AFF can have embedded media or the media is generated and saved seperately.

An embedded AAF is ok for audio but for video you end up with a massive file (unless the runtime and codec is small)

So making the AAF to a seperate folder is normally best.

You should end up with a folder created (as well as the AAF file) that complete media folder along with the AAF need to be sent to the other editor.